Pistachio Cupcakes

We were at The Cupcake Store a couple of weeks ago and I tried one of those “limited time” Cupcakes…a Chocolate Pistachio Cupcake…my god was it good.  I’m a huge Pistachio fan (it’s my favorite Ice Cream, but I’ll save that for another post).  I buy them in bulk from Costco and could snack on them until the end of time…

Back on track here, while I loved the Cupcake, I’m not sure I was sold on having a Chocolate Cupcake as the base of this, I felt it needed to be something that screamed more Pistachio, and this wasn’t it.

So I looked online and found a recipe that I thought would fit the bill with ingredients we already had in the pantry…but I needed an excuse to make these.  Of course, a couple of hours later we got invited to a St Patrick’s Day party and was told to bring something green…well well well…

Pistachio Cupcakes

  • Servings: 15 cupcakes
  • Time: 1 hours, 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Credit - Pistachio Pudding Cupcakes

Ingredients (Cupcake):

  • 1 box White or Yellow Box Mix (I prefer Duncan Hines)
  • 1.5 cups Milk
  • 1 box Pistachio Jell-O Pudding mix

Ingredients (Frosting):

  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1 box Pistachio Jell-O Pudding mix
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 cup Powdered Sugar
  • About 15 Roasted & Salted Pistachio’s (shelled and roughly chopped in your food processor)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 F, and prepare 2 muffin tins with 15 liners
  2. Whisk the Milk & Pudding, then once incorporated add the cake mix and mix well with a spoon.  Pour into liners, and bake for 22-25 minutes (my cupcakes looked a little burned after 25 minutes, but they tasted great).  Cool until you’re ready to frost…
  3. For the frosting, Whip the Cream and the Powdered Sugar in your Kitchenaid on 6 for about 5-6 minutes until soft peaks start forming.  While your Mixer is doing it’s thing, whisk the other package of pudding and milk by hand.  Once the cream is whipped, add the pudding mixture and fold together.
  4. Frost those cupcakes any way you like.  Top with the chopped Pistachios

Nutrition Info (per cupcake)

Calories – NONE!  Seriously – quit reading and start baking…NOM NOM NOM

Leave a Reply

