My Best Friend (in the Kitchen)

Somewhere last year, a co-worker started bringing cupcakes on an almost daily basis to work…she was testing different recipes for her sisters wedding and I got to sample just about every one…

It was at that point I realized that I should start baking…if I actually wanted to think of myself as something serious in the kitchen, my desserts had to consist more of just

  1. Something from Costco
  2. Ice Cream

I started researching baking and realized it looked pretty easy (haha)…not someone to take something half-@$$ed, I decided to go all-in and buy a heavy duty stand mixer.  So many models to research and figure out.  On Black Friday, I bought one on sale from Costco USA (in the guise of a Christmas present from Rumsters) – and it’s been love ever since:

KitchenAid 550 HD Professional
It doesn’t look like much, but this bad boy has been awesome ever since.  It`s a KitchenAid 550 HD Professional (fancy name).  I haven’t given him a name yet, although I figure I probably should.  It came with a whisk, dough hook, and paddle.

Once I finally allowed myself to open it at Christmas, I’ve made quite a few things I never thought of making before myself:

  1. Cakes
  2. Icing
  3. Pizza Dough
  4. Focaccia
  5. Naan Bread*
  6. etc etc etc

* – next on my list is trying to make Roti & Paratha dough since I have no interest at all kneading atta like Mom used to do every day for dinner when I was a kid.

There are a ton of accessories you can buy for him, but I’ve been pretty good and not breaking down and buying any…but I broke down last week and bought the ice cream attachment.  Hopefully I’ll be posting an ice cream review sometime next week…

Leave a Reply

