Potato Salad

This is a recipe I saw a couple of days ago on Food Network (the best non-Sports channel around).  My Mom has always made the best Potato Salad around, and so I never bothered getting a recipe of my own…until I saw this one…any recipe that calls for reserved bacon fat to be mixed into the final product…SIGN ME UP!

Ingredients

  • 6 Yukon Gold Potatoes
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1/2 pound Bacon 🙂
  • 2 stalks of Celery (chopped)
  • 8 Green Onions (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup Mayo
  • 1/4 cup Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tbsp Vinegar
  • 2 tbsp Relish
  • 2 tbsp Bacon fat

 

Directions

  1. Put Potatoes into a pot with cold water and put on high until they are cooked thru (it took me 45 minutes from sink to ready tonight)
  2. While Potatoes are boiling, chop up the bacon and cook to your liking, set aside the bacon and 2 tbsp of the fat
  3. Mix the Mayo, Mustard, Bacon fat, Relish, and Vinegar together
  4. Once Potatoes are done, immediately remove from water and chop into bite-size pieces (make sure you don’t burn yourself).  You want to do it while it’s hot since it absorbs more of the dressing flavor that way
  5. Put the celery, green onions, potatoes, and dressing into a bowl and season with Salt & Pepper and mix Tasted pretty good for my first time, but I think next time I’ll add more Bacon fat…
One thought on “Potato Salad”

Leave a Reply

