Homemade Ketchup

Finished Product – made 1.5 jars

So a caveat before I start…I hate ketchup.  Absolutely.  Positively.  No doubt about it.  When I have a choice, I always try to get a different condiment instead of ketchup.  When I was a kid, I loved it, but now, it’s just some bland, red paste that I douse in hot sauce to try to give it some taste.

With that said, I saw this recipe on the Food Network a little while ago and thought that I would try it out…maybe fresh, homemade ketchup would make me like ketchup again…
the finished product definitely has some kick, and makes me want to dip it into some fresh french fries…

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can chopped/diced Tomatoes (if you have fresh tomatoes on hand, even better)
  • 1 6 oz can Tomato Paste
  • 1 large Onion, chopped
  • 1 clove Garlic, chopped
  • 1 cup Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil
  • 2 tbsp Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tspn allspice
  • 3 Bay Leaves
  • Sprinkle of Salt & Pepper
  • Diced Jalapeno Pepper (optional)

Directions:

  1. Put everything in a saucepan over medium heat to a simmer, and lower temperature slightly.
  2. Stir occasionally while simmering for 30-45 minutes, until reduced by half
  3. Remove from heat, and let cool for a bit, then take an immersion blender and process (you could also put in a blender or food processor) until smooth, and place in a jar

Inspiration for this recipe

Leave a Reply

