Grilled Pizza – “House Special”

Delicious!

Pizza is always everyone’s favorite growing up…I remember getting excited whenever my parents decided that they were going to order Pizza, or whenever I brought home a good report card since we’d get to pick what we wanted for dinner.  But for whatever reason, I never appreciated home made Pizza…it just wasn’t the same.

My, how times have changed.  While I still love ordering Pizza, especially during a Poker night, there’s something to be said about Pizza made from home.  So easy to make, yet it tastes delicious, and you can put whatever you like (and how much of it).  The best thing about making Pizza at home is you don’t need to make a special trip to the grocery store…all you need is some sauce and cheese and you already have a Margherita Pizza, and you just add the toppings from there.

I guess I should name this pizza, since I’m sure I’ll post more unique recipes as time goes on…since most take-out shops always have a “house special” pizza, it’s a good enough name for me…especially since it never turns out the same!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Pizza dough (this is the same dough recipe I used for this, I’ll write about this dough recipe in a future post…but you can use any other flatbread/Boboli, etc.
  • Pizza Sauce
  • Diced Vegetables…whatever you have in your fridge!  I used a handful of Onions, Peppers, Garlic, Ginger, Mushrooms, Jalapenos, & Cilantro.  I diced them all up into small pieces and mixed it in a bowl
  • Meat for the Pizza – as much or little as you like, and again whatever you have in the fridge.  I used Ham & Salami
  • Cornmeal for dusting
  • Flour for dusting
  • Shredded Cheese

Directions:

  1. Place a Pizza Stone in your oven, and heat to 450 F.  I prefer using a BBQ instead, as it cooks quicker AND you get the smoky flavor to it that you can’t get in an oven
  2. Dust a Pizza Peel liberally with Cornmeal
  3. Dust the counter with flour (a lot of flour to make sure it doesn’t stick) and roll out the flour into a 1/8″ thick circle (or whatever shape it ends up in!), and place on the peel (you want to minimize time that the dough is just sitting around otherwise it will stick to the counter or peel, so you should have all your veggies cut and ready to go)
  4. Apply sauce onto the pizza – don’t over due it as you only need a little bit
  5. I like applying a small amount of cheese before any toppings
  6. Add your meat (if you’re putting any on)
  7. Add your diced vegetables and spread evenly throughout the pizza
  8. Add Cheese
  9. Dust the Pizza stone with some more cornmeal, and slide the pizza onto the stone.  If using a BBQ, it should be ready in about 8 minutes, and if using an oven, about 12 minutes.
Leave a Reply

