Mom’s Lasagna

2-for-1 night

Believe it or not, this is the first recipe I ever wrote down.  I think I was 10 years old at the time.  Why I wrote it, I have no idea…where we got it from, I also have no idea.  I just know my Mom borrowed a recipe from someone, and I loved it so much I wrote it down so we’d have a copy.  Even today, that original copy is still in my recipe book…I just can’t bring myself to throw it out.  The only change I’ve made from the original recipe is that I added some Spinach into the middle layer of the Lasagna.

One other thing I do whenever I make it now…I always make double and put the second one in the freezer.  The recipe listed below is for a single lasagna though.

Ingredients:

  • 2.75 cups shredded Mozzarella
  • 2 cups Ricotta Cheese
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 jar Marinara Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp Oregano
  • 8-10 Lasagna Noodles (I always buy the no boil ones – saves time)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 lb Ground Beef or Italian Sausage
  • Handful of chopped Mushrooms
  • 1 handful chopped Spinach
  • 1 clove Garlic (chopped)

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350 F
  2. Combine the Ricotta Cheese, 2 cups of Mozza Cheese, Egg, and Salt in a bowl.  Save the 0.75 cup of Mozza for the top of the Lasagna
  3. Saute the Garlic for a minute, and then add the mushrooms for 3-5 minutes until nicely browned.  At that point, add the meat and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, until no longer pink.
  4. Pour a bit of the sauce over the bottom of the lasagna pan, and then pour the rest of the bottle into the meat mixture with the oregano and let it simmer on low heat
  5. Put 4 or 5 noodles in the lasagna pan (depends how big your pan is).  Add half of the cheese mixture and spread throughout the pan, and then add half of the meat mixture and spread as well.  Add all of the Spinach.
  6. Repeat step 5, except instead of topping with Spinach, top with the rest of the Mozza
  7. Pour the water along the edges of the lasagna and cover with foil
  8. Bake for 60 minutes, uncovering for the last 10 minutes.  Let the lasagna sit for 20 minutes to set before cutting

 

Leave a Reply

