Homemade Chicken Wings

Served with a buttered whole grain roll and coleslaw

Back when I was living on my own, I would eat Chicken Wings every week.  I would buy the frozen Buffalo style wings from Costco and was in heaven…after I got married, this wasn’t a suitable weekly dinner idea, but I would still buy them for when we had friends over for appetizers…a couple of years ago when we got a deep fryer, I started making boneless Buffalo Chicken Wings similar to Chili’s or Applebee’s and loved them…they were so good, I even started making them for dinner once in awhile.  However, it’s still deep fried so I didn’t want to make it a staple of the diet.

Well, this recipe is a happy medium.  You still get the taste of chicken wings with all the seasonings…except that it’s fresh and baked so you know it’s not loaded with preservatives, and tastes a million times better.

I used the recipe/quantities below to make two different flavors…so I had two separate bowls going and put all the same amount of seasoning in it except for the “Chef’s” spice, which was different in each bowl.  If your just making one flavor, just use one bowl and add 50% to the dry measurements below…

Ingredients: 

What you need…
  • 1/2 pack of Chicken Wings
  • 2.0 tbsp Cornstarch
  • 1.0 tsbp Sugar
  • 1.5 tsp spice (Chef’s Pick) – for tonight, I did 2 different batches, so I had both Curry Powder and Mesquite Seasoning
  • 1.0 tsp Salt
  • 1.0 tsp Pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 F
  2. In a bowl, mix all the ingredients above (except the wings) and mix the seasoning together
  3. Now add the wings and toss until the wings are covered 
  4. Bake for 60 minutes, turning once if desired (I didn’t tonight since I was VPN’d to work while this was baking and forgot)
  5. Plate and serve…I used a roll and coleslaw as the side dishes tonight
Leave a Reply

