Chicken Curry

I make this dish using a slow cooker…I’m not even sure where we got a slow cooker, as I don’t remember buying it.  But once or twice a year, I pull it out and put it to use.  Afterwards, I marvel at how easy it was and how good the kitchen smelled all day, and vow to use it again soon.  I guess I’ll see you in 2013!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp Butter
  • 2 tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • Pack of Chicken Breast or Thighs (I used Thighs)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of Garlic, diced
  • 2 tsp Curry Power
  • 1 tbsp Curry Paste
  • 2 tsp Tandoori Masala
  • 1 tsn Garam Masala
  • 1 can Tomato Paste
  • 1 Jalapeno Pepper, diced
  • 12-15 Cardamom pieces
  • 1 can Coconut Milk
  • 1 cup Yogurt
  • Salt

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter +  oil in a  skillet over medium heat.
  2. Add the diced chicken, onion, jalapeno, and garlic. Cook and stir until the onion has softened, took about 8 minutes for me. 
  3. Add the curry powder, curry paste, tandoori masala, garam masala, and tomato paste and mix well. 
  4. Pour the chicken into a slow cooker, and stir in the cardamom pods, coconut milk, salt, and yogurt.
  5. Cook on low 7-8 hours, and serve with Rice or Naan
Leave a Reply

